Sign In

ATRF's History

 As far back as 1915, teachers lobbied for a pension plan in Alberta. Then, on March 31, 1939, the Act establishing the Teachers' Retirement Fund (TRF) was passed by the Alberta Legislature.

With an Alberta Government loan of $5,000, the Alberta Teachers' Retirement Fund Board (ATRF), which was then called the Teachers' Retirement Fund (TRF), set up office in space provided by The Alberta Teachers' Association (ATA) in the Imperial Bank Building on 101 Street and Jasper Avenue.

John Barnett, employed by the ATA, served as Secretary Treasurer.

The first Board of S. E. Low (Chair), R. J. Gaunt, C. O Hicks, and A. E. Rosborough established policies and practices that formed the basis of the first teachers' pension organization. 

The first Board meeting was held Friday, May 5, 1939 at 8:00 p.m. and the Board members devoted their energies to:

  • providing benefits for teachers age 65 or more,
  • protecting the fund against an inundation of older teachers re-entering the profession in order to obtain a pension, and 
  • collecting information for actuarial advice.

The A.T.A. Magazine reported in its May, 1939 issue that total number of members at the time was 5,844. Today, approximately 1,000 teachers retire each year.

To see a list of all the ATRF Board Chairs and CEOs over the past 75 years, click here.

Have a look at the Milestones presentation (PDF) here for more interesting information.



© Copyright 2015, Alberta Teachers' Retirement Fund Board
Legal Information