Sign In

ATRF Board Members

​​​​​​The ATRF Board consists of eight members nominated by each of the two plan sponsors – the Alberta Government and the plan members, who are represented by The Alberta Teachers’ Association (ATA). Appointments are made by the Lieutenant Governor in Council.​ Below are our current board members. To view the ATRF Committee Membership, click here.


Sandra Johnston


​​​​​​​​Sandra Johnston

Sandra joined the ATRF Board in 2012 and became Board Chair in July 2019. Sandra taught in the Peace River School Division before joining the Teacher Welfare executive staff of the Alberta Teachers' Association (ATA) in 2001, where she held the position of Coordinator from 2013 to 2020.

As well as coordinating central and local collective bargaining and acting as the representative of the bargaining agent, Sandra was the ATA's pension expert. She has written and presented extensively on pensions and retirement issues for Alberta teachers.  

Karen Elgert​​​​​​​Karen Elgert

Karen is a District Principal in Wetaskiwin, Alberta, and has worked for the Wetaskiwin Regional Public School Division for more than 30 years. She currently oversees the Wetaskiwin Outreach High School and School at Home Learning and is responsible for Summer School. She has been active throughout her career with the local ATA, serving on EPC and NSC committees. Karen holds a B.F.A. and B.Ed. from the University of Calgary and a M.Ed. from the University of Alberta. Karen joined ATRF in August of 2009.

041A2912-edited2-cropped 132.jpg

Greg Francis

Greg served as General Counsel and Superintendent of Human Resources for the Calgary Board of Education from 2012 to 2018. He has since returned to providing arbitration and mediation services in the labour relations context. Greg is also a member of the Board of Directors of the Old Trout Puppet Workshop.He was appointed Queen's Counsel in 2016. Greg joined the ATRF Board in March 2019.


Paul Haggis

Paul is a graduate of Western University and a Chartered Director (C. Dir) of the Directors College through DeGroote Business School at McMaster University. He began his financial career in the banking sector. Following nine years in corporate banking, Paul joined Metropolitan Life, finishing as COO of Canadian operations. He also served as CEO of the Ontario Municipal Employees Retirement System (OMERS), was a founding director and interim CEO of the Public Sector Pension Investment Board (PSPIB) and CEO of the Alberta Treasury Branches (ATB Financial).

He recently retired as the Chair of the Alberta Enterprise Corporation. Paul was commissioned into the Royal Canadian Air Force Reserve in 1971 and retired as an Honorary Colonel in 1997. He is a Life Honorary Trustee of the Royal Ontario Museum and a recipient of the Queen's Golden Jubilee Medal. Paul joined the ATRF Board in August 2019.

Maria Holowinsky​​​​​​​Maria Holowinsky

Maria recently retired as Director of Research for CWB Wealth Management. Previously, she was CEO of Adroit Investment Management, Edmonton's largest independent investment counselling firm, until it was acquired by Canadian Western Bank. She recently served on the Edmonton Economic Development Corporation Board as Director and Governance Chair, and previously served as Chair of the Edmonton Boxing Commission. She is very proud of her role in helping to develop the PRIME Program (a student-run investment program that manages a fund worth over C$1,700,000) at the University of Alberta, where she was a founding board member, past Chair, and mentor for two decades. She has served as a Curriculum Committee member and Exam Grader for the CFA Institute, and lecturer for the Institute of Chartered Accountants' continuing education program.

She currently serves on the Investment Committees of NAIT and Athabasca University, and is Vice Chair of the University of Alberta Board Investment Committee. Maria is a Chartered Financial Analyst, a graduate of the Institute of Corporate Directors ICD Rotman Directors Education Program, and holds a Bachelor of Economics from the University of Alberta. She joined the ATRF Board in May 2017.

Brad Langdale-edited- 150.jpg

Brad Langdale

Brad is a high school teacher with Parkland School Division in Spruce Grove, Alberta. Brad has been active in his professional association, working for and representing his professional colleagues by serving on various committees. Brad holds a B.Ed from the University of Alberta and teaches Physics and general sciences. Brad joined the ATRF board in December of 2019.

Kareen Stangherlin​​​​​​​​​Rafi G. Tahmazian

Rafi G. Tahmazian has more than 29 years of oil & gas, energy banking and investment management experience.  He is currently a Director and Senior Portfolio Manager with Canoe Financial.  Prior to Canoe, Rafi spent 13 years at First Energy Capital, a leading investment dealer that focuses on the energy industry.  He left the firm in 2008 as Vice Chairman and Managing Director.  He is currently on the Board of Directors for Canoe Financial LP, the Alberta Teachers' Retirement Fund, Artis Exploration Ltd, Aureus Energy Services Inc, Chance Oil and Gas Ltd, Topaz Energy Corp and Well Ventures Corp. 

Rafi graduated from the University of Calgary with a Bachelor of Arts in Economics.

Rafi manages the Canoe Energy Class, Canoe Energy Income Class, and the Canoe Energy Alpha Fund. He joined the ATRF Board in January 2020.


Tim Wiles-152.jpg

Tim Wiles

Until he recently retired, Tim was the President & Chief Executive Officer of the Credit Union Deposit Guarantee Corporation since March 2013. Prior to that, Tim spent almost 25 years with the Government of Alberta with the last seven years as a Deputy Minister. His time in government was mostly spent in the Finance Ministry in a variety of roles including Deputy Minister, Controller and acting Chief Internal Auditor. He also served as the Deputy Minister for Education and for Seniors and Community Supports Ministries.

Tim has served on several boards including the Public Service Pension Board, Alberta Capital Financing Authority, AIMCo, Credit Union Deposit Guarantee Corporation, and the Public Sector Accounting Board of the Association of Professional Accountants. Tim holds a chartered professional accountant designation (fellow) and Bachelor of Commerce degree, from the University of Alberta. He joined the ATRF Board in March 2020.

© Copyright 2015, Alberta Teachers' Retirement Fund Board
Legal Information